【美文推荐】A Better Way to Plan Your Career【中英对照】

六合开奖
楼主
跳转到指定楼层
发表于 2013-7-22 16:48:24 | 只看该作者 回帖奖励 |倒序浏览 |阅读模式
如何更好的规化你的职业

by Robert C. Pozen | 11:00 AM November 29, 2012

作者:罗伯特 伯仁

My students frequently ask me how I planned out my career to become president of Fidelity Investments. I always tell them, "There was no grand plan; I backed into my career one step at a time."

我的学生经常问我是怎样规化我的职业才能成为富达投资集团的主席的.我总是告诉他们,"没有什么宏伟的计划,我每走一步都会回顾一下我的职业生涯"

In the years after I graduated from law school, I had no idea that I would ultimately become the president of a financial services giant. I held positions as a law professor, a senior official at the Securities and Exchange Commission, and a partner in a law firm.

在我刚刚从法律院校毕业的那些年,我不知道我最终会成为一个金融服务集团的主席.那时我是一个法律教授,一个证券 交易委员会的中级官员,一个律师事务所的合伙人.

But during these early steps in my career, I learned a great deal about myself: I found that I really liked doing deals and managing people, rather than drafting regulations and writing articles. So I accepted a job offer at Fidelity Investments in 1987, when it was still relatively young. I spent the next decade climbing the corporate ladder; in 1997, for a complex set of reasons, I was chosen to be president of the company.

但是就是在我职业的早期 ,我对自己有了很好的了解.我发现在真的很喜欢交易和管理人,而不是起草规则或者写文章.因此我在1987年接受了富达投资集团提供的工作,那时我还很年轻.我用下一个十年来爬职业之梯.在1997年,由于复杂的原因,我选择成为这个公司的主席.

What does my history suggest about career planning? That you can't control the trajectory of your career. There are just too many factors beyond your control that will shape your job options--global economic trends, political elections, and technological changes, just to name a few. So don't commit the hubris of thinking that you can determine your professional glide path.

我的经历对职业规化有什么启示呢?那就是你不能控制你的职业轨迹.有太多你不能控制的因素,这些因素会影响你的工作选择-世界经济趋势,政治选举,和科技变化, 只是列举其中的一些.因此不要想着你能决定你的职业规化.